Hei from Helsinki!

It’s been a while since my last post.
More than a while, actually.

a) I have moved one, two, three, four times. Nevertheless my official address still remains in Stockholm.

b) I have a new family member, a Gordon Setter called Aapo (who minds me writing right now by shretching his paw at me, as he does every time he is seeking for attention).

Screen Shot 2013-01-23 at 19.29.45

c) I worked for about two years at World Design Capital Helsinki 2012 office bringing design and tourism into one. The official farewell party was held only a week ago.

Now I am relaxing by the fire at our island house about 45 minutes from a metropolis of 1,5 million people. There is nobody here – except the birds, foxes, rabbits, deers and occasionally sound of cracking ice. Yesterday evening a blizzard hit the southern coast, roaring in the corners and throwing snowflakes size of a thumb at us.

bild-7     bild-3

We have been coming out here a lot never minding about winter. Christmas & New Year feels like ages ago. Eventually the ice is strong enough to carry a scooter – it only takes about 10 minutes to travel here from the mainland. The weather has been perfect: beautiful sunny crispy wintery days filled with light, joy and calmness – and hot chocolate. We only wonder were are the tourists? There would be an enormous potential for guided tours and accommodation in the area. What an experience for someone new as we are still amazed every time we get out here.

bild-2.jpg     bild-101.jpg

Leave a comment